top of page

An Ode To Humor By Eric Henry Leduc

This is about my humorous date,

For which the girl was late,

I thought it was funny,

But she must have thought I was a looney.

I’m not a poet so I can’t rhyme,

So is Kanye but he still makes more than a dime.

Coming back to my date,

For which the girl was late.

My best friend Alex set me up,

He must have thought it was high time I hooked up.

He did so with a good intention,

I would have fared better if I’d learnt the art of circumvention.

Alex is a musician, plays at a bar called Hum Drum,

The beer there is watery, but I go there for the Rum.

Let’s go back to the story my date,

For which the girl was late.

I took the girl to Hooters,

They have great shooters.

Don’t even get me started the food,

The Buffalo wings have me wooed.

The last one was a bad rhyme,

But hey, I’m not here to make a dime.

Coming back to my date,

Yes, she was late.

She walked in like the breeze,

I slurped down my Citrus Mist and got a brain freeze.

She said, ‘Sorry, I’m late’,

I said, ‘It’s alright, I know it takes time to sculpt your face for a date’.

Face sculpting is an art,

What she tried to do was a start.

I’m no artist when it comes to paint,

I could have done a better job in half the time and not faint.

She responded saying ‘Chivalry is dead’,

I said. ‘No Erica, that’s the chicken in between the bread.’

She should have laughed at this one liner,

Because she didn’t, I knew this was a goner.

I said Eric L’s the name,

You know the game.

If I weren’t any lame,

She’d probably be my dame.

I knew her name already,

She’d spilt whiskey all over me as she is tardy.

Erica is a bartender,

And here I was singing ‘Love me tender.’

As the song started playing,

I couldn’t help myself from braying.

The date was already a disaster,

I couldn’t wait for it to end faster.

Being me, I tried breaking the ice,

Told her she looked nice.

For a minute she kept silent,

I’m sure my comment on her caked face had her getting violent.

She finally said, ‘I’m hungry let’s eat.’

I was glad there were no signs of defeat.

She ordered a fries and coke,

And I thought to myself, ‘Is this a joke?’

Fries for lunch, really,

Man, don’t be silly.

My five year old niece eats a plate,

Every weekend, mate.

She sat and watched me attack my Bacon burger,

Wishing that should have been her order.

I started off with my five trademark jokes,

She would have laughed is it weren’t for the endless coax.

Long story short, the date ended where it began,

I said good bye, turned around and ran.

Thank you Alex for setting me up,

This is a sign that I should give up.

bottom of page